Lifetime Achievement Awards New Cardiovascular Horizons Annual Conference

NCVH Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees

2013 - Giancarlo Biamino, MD, PhD

For nearly five decades Professor Giancarlo Biamino has been at the forefront of vascular medicine. In a career filled with countless milestones perhaps Biamino’s greatest achievement was championing laser for debulking diseased vessels. After most interventionists abandoned the technique in the late 1980’s Biamino demonstrated that in the hands of a master excimer laser could be a viable and effective instrument in the vascular tool chest.

His career has included many distinguished clinical appointments in Germany and Italy. With his colleague Dr. Dierk Scheinert he founded the Leipzig Interventional Course, today’s premiere European endovascular conference. Professor Biamino continues to be a world leader in the practice of endovascular intervention. He currently holds the position of Professor of Internal Medicine, Department of Cardiovascular Medicine, Clinica Montevergine, in Mercogliano, Italy.

Biamino is a purveyor of classical music and is an avid alpine and cross country skier.

  • 2012 - Frank J. Veith, MD

  • 2011 - Mark Wholey, MD

  • 2010 - Gregg W. Stone, MD

  • 2008 - John E. Abele (pictured)
    & Pete M. Nicolas, MBA

  • 2007 - Earl E. Bakken

  • 2006 - Michael E. DeBakey, MD

  • 2005 - John B. Simpson, MD, PhD

  • 2004 - Thomas J. Fogarty, MD

  • 2003 - Martin B. Leon, MD

  • 2002 - Edward B. Diethrich, MD

  • 2001 - Julio C. Palmaz, MD

Connect and share with NCVH Online!